Kazakh Government on transfer of thermal power plants to state ownership

The Government and the Prosecutor General's Office of Kazakhstan are carrying out preliminary work on the transfer of a number of thermal power plants to state ownership. The issue was considered as early as November 24 at the recent meeting of the Commission on Economy Demonopolization, the official information source of the Kazakh Prime Minister reports. Thus, according to the Energy Ministry, only ten thermal power plants out of 37 operating ones are owned by the state. They are located in Astana, Shakhtinsk, Arkalyk, Taraz, Semei, Kostanai, Oral, Kentau and Kyzylorda cities. 22 power plants are privately owned, and the remaining five are quasi-public, including three plants located in Almaty and two in Aktau. President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev stressed the need to transfer energy facilities to the state after the accident at the Ekibastuz TPP. He instructed to investigate the circumstances and bring those responsible to justice.