State of emergency lifted in three regions of Kazakhstan

The state of emergency was lifted in three regions of Kazakhstan. The country’s President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev signed the corresponding decree. This applies to the West Kazakhstan, North Kazakhstan and Pavlodar regions. The nationwide state of emergency was introduced in Kazakhstan on January 5 due to riots. Meanwhile, the time of curfew has changed in the Almaty region. It will now be in effect from 11 pm to 7 am, whereas previously the restriction on the movement of city residents began after 8 pm. According to the official statement, this is due to the improvement of the operational situation.


Translation by Assem Zhanmukhanova

Editing by Saule Mukhamejanova